Pictures of Lofoten Islands Northern Lights -

Further to the south are the small and isolated islands of Værøy (67°40′N 12°40′E / 67. 667°N 12. 667°E / 67. 667; 12. 667) and Røst (67°37′N 12°7′E / 67. 617°N 12. 117°E / 67. 617; 12. 117). The total land area amounts to 1,227 square kilometres (474 square miles), and the population totals 24,500. Many will argue that Hinnøya, the northern part of Austvågøy and several hundred smaller islands, skerries and rocks to the east of Austvågøy are also part of the Lofoten complex. Historically, the territorial definition of Lofoten has changed significantly. Between the mainland and the Lofoten archipelago lies the vast, open Vestfjorden, and to the north is Vesterålen. The principal towns in Lofoten are Leknes in Vestvågøy and Svolvær in Vågan. The main islands are joined to each other and the mainland by road bridges. Google Earth view of road bridge from Austvågøy to Vestvågøy